Karnataka State Assembly Election 2018 Last Date of Nomination

Karnataka State Assembly Election 2018 Last Date of Nomination

About 3,374 candidates have given their nominations for the 12th May Karnataka Assembly Polls, according to the amended figures from the Election Commission released.

As per the Election Commission data, of the total nominees, 250 comes from the ruling Congress, 282 of Opposition Bharatiya Janata Party BJP, 231 from the Janata Dal Secular JD(S), 1,673 Independents and 938 from local parties and fringe outfits.

The nomination process start on 17th April after the single-phase election schedule was published, and Tuesday was the final day to file nominations.

The Congress has fielded a total of sixteen female, whereas BJP & JD(S) fielded 17 and 14 respectively. Additionally, 90 women have given their nominations as Independents from different constituencies. 5 of the nominees are aged between 81-90 years.

Congress leaders Kagodu Thimmappa, aged 87, who filed his nomination from Sagar in Shivamogga dist., Shamanur Shivashankarappa, aged 86, from Davanagere South Assembly segment, AB Malakareddy, of age 82, from Yadgir, JD(S) chief Mallappa Channaveerappa M, aged 82, from Sindgi constituency in Vijayapura district, and Bhartiya Janata Party’s nominee from Hangal in Haveri dist., CM Udasi, 82, are the oldest nominees.

Karnataka has about 224 Assembly constituencies. Since the 3 major parties have all over this mark, it’s likely that twenty-six Congress candidates, 58 BJP candidates and 7 from JD(S) would have made so without the compulsory B-Form from their concerned parties, and are therefore likely to be cancelled once the election commission holds its scrutiny. The final day of withdrawal of candidatures is 27th April 2018.

The Election Commission is yet to declare the list of agreed nominations after its scrutiny on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *