Congress List of Candidates for Karnataka Assembly Election 2018

Congress List of Candidates for Karnataka Assembly Election 2018

Within a month to head for Karnataka Assembly Polling 2018, the Congress on April 15th announced its list of 218 candidates. Congress is yet to name candidates for the balance 6 out of the 224 assembly seats in the state of Karnataka. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will challenge from Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru this time. He had been a contestant from the Varuna constituency since the year 2008, but this time he has left it for his son, Dr Yatheendra.

Besides Mr Siddaramaiah and his son, the kid of at least 4 sitting legislators have also been awarded tickets. The family combos in the list comprise home minister Ramalinga Reddy and his daughter Soumya, law minister TB Jayachandra and son, housing minister M Krishnappa and son Priya Krishna & Shamanur Shivshankarappa and son SS Mallikarjun.

State Congress lead Dr. G. Parameshwara has been provided the Korategere ticket beside losing earlier. DK Shivakumar, a controversial minister in Siddaramaiah’s cabinet, will be a contestant now from Kanakapura. Other party leaders such as RV Deshpande & UT Khader will be contesting from Haliyal and Mangalore seats, respectively.

Film star Ambareesh has been offered the Mandya ticket. Until now the Congress candidate for the Shantinagar seat in the city of Bengaluru has not been released. The seat is presently reserved by NA Haris, whose son was arrested for alleged assault recently.

The polls to the 224-seat assembly in Karnataka state are scheduled for May 12th 2018. Vote Counting will occur 3 days later. Karnataka is the sole big state where is the Congress is in rule.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *